One Week Down.

This is my attempt to keep up with Whitney’s blog and repost her letters to home.  

Uhmmm…can I say wow! Like a hundred times!    so, I have SO much to say, but so little time.  I’ll just tell ya’ll the good stuff.

this week has felt like a month…ugh.  It was so long.  I haven’t really been tired until today:  Wednesday!  Which is my “P” day.  Yes, the MTC is no bueno, ha.  The food is….uhm not too ba.  I ate what I think was just cow tongue or cow intestines.  The campus is so pretty though.  We have every kind of court you can think of.  Basketball, Volleyball, Track.  It has a beautiful view of the B hill.  I didn’t have time to take a picture but I will next week.  Mexico CIty is so colorful and so populated that houses are built on the side of hills.  It is crazy, but beautiful too!

 

Funny moment:  Mexicans go hard on the weekends.  This weekend all of Mexico City was having a party.  Hermana Howell and I were pretty jealous that we couldn’t leave the compound.  LOL

So I want to tell all you previous missionaries that you can say, “I told you so!”  A MISSION IS HARD.  Yeah Dad, this is for you!  

I remember thinking, Nah, a mission can’t be that hard.  I mean I’m sure it’s kind of hard, but not what everyone keeps telling me.  I was wrong!  Way wrong!  AND I’m not even out in the field yet.  This is definitely the hardest thing I have ever done!  BUT the best thing I have ever done.  Also, at on point I wanted to call all of my family that speak Spanish and ask if they could just give me their knowledge.  Lazy, I know….this week I have felt so many emotions.  Stress, happiness, scared, VERY overwhelmed, and sad.  However, this week I have never felt the Saviors love so much.  Christ went through excruciating pain. It was hard.  It was painful.  It was overwhelming.  It probably wasn’t his first choice when he said, “Father, let this cup pass from me, but thy will be done”.  He loves us so much that he was willing to give his life so we could return to live with HIm and our Heavenly Father.  It amazes me to know just how much I am loved.  Everything they do, their purpose is to help us return to them.  That’s unconditional love!  It makes me want to show them just how much I love them.  Even though I will never be able to show them the love that they show me, I will not stop trying.  Even though the  mission is hard, I will do whatever it takes to work hard to be the best missionary I can be. I will do this by being loving to mi companera and those I come in contact with.  By being patient with the language.  By being worthy to have the gift of tongues and the constant companionship of the Holy Ghost.  

Me encanta este evangelio.  Yo se este iglesia es verdadero: la iglesia de Jesucristo de los Santos de lost Ultimos Dias  

ha ha Yes, I can testify and say a prayer in Spanish, even if I sound like a 5 year old!

I feel like I am getting the language down…like understanding what someone is saying and then I hear a native speaker, and I’m just like…..yeah, No.  Ha ha but the good thing is that I can understand alot.  I just can’t speak a whole lot.  I am working and being patient.  I have had to learn a lot of patience over the week.  

Mi companera: Hermana Howell is from Holladay.  She went to Olympus and knows of the fornelius and trav!  And she is going to Nicaragua with me!!!  She has such a sweet spirit!  I honestly have THE best companion.  ~ she is a health freak like me.  ~ loves working out and working hard ~she knows everyone.  I do feel lonely sometimes because everyone from Utah knows each other.  LOL  We had a hard time recognizing The Spirit the first two times we taught our investigator.  I believe it was because we were so worried about the language instead of the investigator.  We learned to forget about espanol and decided to teach in love!  That helped tremendously.  

Oh, so I suggest everyone needs to watch :  Lifting burdens.  It’s a Mormon message!  AHHH, so great!

So, thank you guys so much for all the sweet emails!

MOM:

you made me cry when you told me about Chan.  I miss my brother!  Thank you for speaking to me about the Spirit! I have been struggling with recognizing and receiving revelation from the Spirit.  Those words were just what I needed.  And yes, feel free to forward or send my emails to anyone and everyone!  Tell them to write me!  You will never know how much they mean to me!  I am not sure about the pouch mail because I left my my book at home!  A lot of the Hermanas have received huge packages that take about two weeks, but they have gotten here…because they have Jesus Stickers on them. I don’t really need anything just yet. It rains everyday here but I’m okay.  I have my umbrella.  You will have to get the right address if you want to send a letter because the one in my book for letters is wrong so it takes longer to get here.  

DAD:

Thank you so much for the sweet book and the letters!  Those stories in that book made me cry like a baby one night!  They were exactly what I needed!

Anyway, please keep sending me emails, letters, and prayers!  I need the help and the advice!!!!  I truly am loving it here and haven’t been that homesick yet!  

Quote I like:  A good [woman] will endure ALL things to honor Christ  ~ Joseph Smith

I want all of you to know just how much I love you!  Even though I haven’t been homesick, I still miss you guys!  I know this is where I am supposed to be.  I read my patriarchal blessing and every single thing pointed to my mission.   I have faith and the desire to be worthy to see what the Lord has planned for me.  I know that my true achievement will be with the Gospel of Christ.

Sorry, I know this email is all over the place.  

remember:  My prep days at the MTC are going to always be on Wednesdays!!

Something I have learned:  seguire el ejemplo de Jesuchristo al bautisado por alguien que posea la autoridad del sacerdocio de dios? el {feche} tendremos….(i forgot the rest, LOL) se prepararaal bautisado ese dia?  

Good thing I know this so I can ask everyone this when I come in contact with them.

Oh, and el temple de la ciudad de Mexico is gorge and looks just like the Jordan River Temple on the inside.  I went this morning, but I was lucky enough to do the session in English.  I won’t be that lucky next time.  

Anyway, SE AMO MUCHO!!!!! 

Herman Rogers

 

Leave a Reply

