Mi familia y mis amigos

Can you believe I am on my fourth week?  Where has the time gone?  It honestly feels like yesterday that I made it to the CCM!  So, can I just say how “TRUE” this church is!!  Can I say how true the Book of Mormon is?…..because IT IS!  It’s so true that it’s almost scary.  HA!  

But really, yo se que el libro de mormon es verdadero.

AND, the only way you can know it is….you have to ASK, SEARCH, AND LISTEN!

Every single one of us has to work for an answer, yes, more work.  I have come to realize that all life is is work.  I’m hoping we will have a break in the next life.  LOL

I encourage everyone to read the introduction and 3 Nephi 11.

Then, read Moroni 10:3-5

Helpful tip:  asking with real intent means we are willing to ACT on the answer we receive!

Moroni 10:7-8; 23  “Deny not the power of God; for he worth by power, according to the faith of the children of men; the same today, tomorrow, and forever, and again, I exhort you, my brethren, that ye DENY NOT the gifts of GOD, for they are many; and they come from the same God, and there are different ways that these gifts are administered; but it is the same God who worketh all in all; and they are given by the manifestations of the Spirit of God unto men.  TO PROFIT THEM.  And Christ truly did say unto our fathers; if ye have Faith ye can do ALL things!

Family, I know with all my heart that WITHOUT GOD, WE CAN DO NOTHING!!!

Every single one of us have gifts.  If we are faithful, the Lord will give them to us and help us to recognize them!

Our communication with the Lord is super importante!

SAY YOUR PRAYERS!  HE loves us and wants to hear from us.

THe times where you don’t want too, are the times you need to the most!

I encourage you all to not brush through your prayers.  How would you feel if your family members just told you all of the things that they are grateful for and the things that they need help with and then they won’t even let you speak?

Please, Please, please take the time to ponder and listen to the Lord.

The Lord put us here on earth to succeed magnificently!  We need to recognize that he is willing to help and He is always listening!  We just need to be faithful and realize its in His time frame.  Yeah, again with the patience thing….

This week was kind of rough for me.  I’ve been struggling with some things and I swear by the end of the week and especially by Sunday, the Lord truly did answer my prayers.  I felt like everything on Sunday was specifically for me!

Hermana Pratt in Relief Society, or our Sunday School meeting with only the women, spoke about FAITH.

It was all about ALMA 32 and a lot of this chapter spoke to me in many different ways than it had before!  I always thought it was for people who didn’t have any faith….but I quickly found out that I was wrong!

I encourage everyone to read this chapter but here are some interesting points i realized:

~I have the responsibility to grow my OWN faith!  We all do.  Relating it to people who are seeking the Church out; I am giving the message as a missionary however, the investigator must invite the truth into his own heart. They need to make a place in their heart to listen and to receive the message.

FAITH IS AN INDIVIDUAL AND ONGOING PROCESS!!!

Alma 32:28  

There are two negative reactions that can occur:

1.  They will cast out the message because of unbelief

2.  They will resist the Spirit of the Lord

The positives that can occur:

Swell within your breast

Enlarge your soul

Enlighten your understanding

Delicious to you

(note that these effects spell out “seed”)

Now, We must nourish our faith DAILY!

I love in verse 39…Now when the heat comes and scorches your faith, it’s not because the seed is bad, it is because your ground is barren and you will not nourish it.  Therefore, you can’t have the fruit or the knowledge and blessings of the gospel!

I want you all to know that I love being a missionary!  

Yes, it’s incredibly hard!  I’m not even exaggerating….but I know that I have the power to do it!

I, Whitney Rogers, have been called to be a REPRESENTATIVE OF THE LORD, how amazing is that?  The Lord has called me to do HIS work, and I will do everything in my power to get it done!

Jesus Christ is real, Heavenly Father is real, the Holy Ghost is real, and satan is real.  But I know I am on the winning team….cough, Father (that was for you.)

Family and Friends:

I love you guys so much, and I am grateful to have such supportive and loving people surrounding me!  I want all of you to know that I pray for each of you every night and I appreciate all the prayers!  Thanks so much for the emails!  Again, I am so sorry I haven’t had time to respond to everyone!  I’m on the Lord’s errand and he needs me working hard.

Mom, Dad, Chan, Kris and Frank, Logan has a gift for each of you.  Sorry its not a thing…LOL

Randomz:

I was not awake the other day and decided to pick up the top of my curling iron with my hand…OUCH!  Missionary work truly does make you tired but definitely in a good way.

Logan’s district left us!  We loved his district and will miss them!

My district is wonderful!  There are 10 of us and me and Hermana Howell are the only girls.

They are all either going to San Antonio, Salt Lake, or Cincinnati!  

Elder Gibb looks like Chuck Bass from gossip girls!  LOL

Elder Najarian is from Bountiful and is 6’9″

I met a guy that looks like Jimmer Fredette and another guy that sounds like Mufasa.

Anyway, I want to leave you with a quote by H David Burton:

“live in such a way that people who know you but don’t know Christ will want to know Christ because they know you”

Oh, and don’t forget to send me emails and letters!  You don’t know how much they mean!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

